ANC Central Number
Click to join the ANC
African National Congress




Secretary General

The Secretary General is the chief administrative officer of the ANC. He or she will:

1. Communicate the decisions of all national structures of the ANC on behalf of the NEC.
2. Keep the minutes of the National Conference, the National General Council, the NEC, the NWC, as well as other records of the ANC.
3. Conduct the correspondence of the NEC and the NWC and send out notices of all conferences and meetings at the national level.
4. Convey the decisions and instructions of the National Conference, the National General Council, the NEC and the NWC to the provincial executive committees, and see to it that all units of the ANC carry out their duties properly.
5. Prepare annual reports on the work of the NEC and the NWC and such other documents which may, from time to time, be required by the NEC and the NWC.
6. Present to the National Conference and National General Council a comprehensive statement of the state of the organisation and the administrative situation of the ANC.
7. In the absence of the President and the Deputy President, the Secretary General shall assume the functions of the President.
8. All departments shall report on their activities and be accountable to the Secretary General.
9. Be an ex-officio member of the NWC.

There have been fourteen Secretaries General of the ANC since its inception in 1912.

  1. 1912 - 1917 Sol T Plaatje
  2. 1917 - 1919 H L Bud M`belle
  3. 1919 - 1923 S Msane
  4. 1923 - 1927 T D Mweli Skota
  5. 1927 - 1930 E J Khaile
  6. 1930 - 1936 Rev E Mdolomba
  7. 1936 - 1949 Rev J Calata
  8. 1949 - 1955 W Sisulu
  9. 1955 - 1958 O R Tambo
  10. 1958 - 1969 D Nokwe
  11. 1969 - 1991 A Nzo
  12. 1991 - 1997 M C Ramaphosa
  13. 1997 - 2007 Kgalema Motlanthe
  14. 2007 - 2012 Gwede Mantashe
  15. 2012 - 2017 Gwede Mantashe