National Chairperson

Current National Chairperson: Baleka Mbete

The current National Chairperson is Baleka Mbete. She was reelected National Chairperson at the 53rd National Conference in 2012. Her term of office will expire in December 2012 when the 53rd National Conference will elect a new national chairperson.

The National Chairperson will:

1. Remain the custodian of the policies adopted and decisions taken by the National Conference and National General Council and ensure that all organs of the ANC implement decisions taken by the National Conference, National General Council, NEC and the NWC and operate within the parameters of policy set out by the National Conference, National General Council and the NEC.
2. Preside over the National Conference, the National General Council, the NEC and the NWC.
3. Carry out such additional tasks or functions, as are entrusted to him or her, by the Conference, Council, NEC or NWC.
4. Be an ex-officio member of the NWC.

In the absence or incapacity of the National Chairperson, the President will assume his or her functions.