< Back

The appointment of the National Task Team of the ANCYL

11 April 2013

The NEC meeting of ANC that set on the 15th - 17th March 2013, mandated the National Officials and the National Working Committee to implement the decision to dissolve the NEC of the ANCYL. The NWC has since been seized with that responsibility in terms of identifying suitable comrades to lead the interim committee until a conference is convened.

In relation to the appointment of the National Task Team that will lead the ANCYL nationally, we have been engaging extensively with our structures nationally to identify suitable comrades with necessary leadership skills, understanding of the ANC and ANCYL as well as reputable character. As you will notice from the names that have been approved, we have avoided to recycle those who have been in leadership positions of the ANCYL at national level. We also want to allow space to those who want to stand at the next national conference to do their ground work without the burden of being in the interim structure. After an exhaustive process we were able to table at the sitting of the NWC on Monday 8th April 2013 names that were identified to compose the NTT. In addition to these names, the NEC is deploying three of its members to work with the NTT. These are; Comrade Mcebisi Skwatsha, David Mahlobo and Pinky Moloi. The Manager for organizing and campaigns at Luthuli House, Comrade Mdu Ntuli will work closely with the National Coordinator.

The NTT will be tasked with the building of ANCYL structures from branch, regional and provincial levels as some of these are not functional at the moment. In this exercise they will also be preparing for the National Conference of the Youth League. All these structures of the ANCYL will be built by the NTT informed by the ANCYL constitutional injunction that they are the integral part of the ANC. The NWC discussed and approved the following names:

1. Mzwandile Masina (Convener) M
2. Magasela Mzobe (Coordinator) M
3. Victoria De Beer F
4. Bongiwe Gigaba F
5. Braam Hanekom M
6. Thembinkosi Josopu M
7. Mxolisi Kaunda M
8. Bandile Masuku M
9. Nokuthula Mbesa F
10. Nomvuyo Mhlakaza F
11. Johan Mkhatshwa M
12. Bridget Mogakwe-Seokamo F
13. Smangaliso Mntengwana M
14. Adelle Naidoo F
15. Maruping Ntuli F
16. Silence Ntshavheni F
17. Mawethu Rune M
18. Jolene Samuels F
19. Seabi Ntshetsi Esrom M (Correction from Joel Seabi)
20. Shaka Sisulu M
21. Rebone Tau F
22. Cynthia Theko (Lerato) F

Issued by:
ANC Secretary General
Gwede Mantashe
African National Congress

Jackson Mthembu 0823708401
Keith Khoza 0828239672