< Back

ANC President heads delegation to Tanzania

2 September 2008

ANC President Jacob Zuma arrived in Tanzania today (2 September 2008) heading a delegation of ANC Officials, National Executive Committee (NEC) members and provincial chairpersons on an official visit. The visit is intended to revitalise and strengthen the historical relations between the ANC and the ruling party, Chama Chamapinduzi (CCM).

The visit takes place against the background of the resolution taken in Polokwane in December 2008 on party-to-party relations, which reads as follows:

"Conference resolves that:

Party-to-Party relations amongst former liberation movements like SWAPO, MPLA, FRELIMO, ZANU PF, PAIGC, CCM, SPLM/A, etc, must be prioritised by the ANC and meetings and structured support of the former liberation movements in the region must be pursued.

An audit be conducted to establish a better understanding of the ideological orientation and character of the parties in the continent and identify those that share the same political vision as the ANC.

A deliberate effort be made to strengthen relations with all progressive and like-minded parties in the region, continent and the world.

Relations with other ruling parties in the continent that might not share the same vision with the ANC must be promoted and such relations could be based on common interests."

In fulfillment of the resolution, visits have already been undertaken to India, China, Angola, Mozambique, Uganda, and Libya among others.

The ANC delegation includse:

  • President Jacob Zuma
  • Baleka Mbete, National Chairperson
  • Mathews Phosa, Treasurer General
  • Thandi Modise, Deputy Secretary General
  • Ace Magashule, NEC member and ANC Free State Chairperson
  • Zweli Mkhize, NEC Member and ANC KwaZulu Natal Chairperson
  • Cassel Mathale, ANC Limpopo Chairperson
  • Ayanda Dlodlo, Umkhonto we Sizwe Military Veterans Association (MKMVA) Secretary General
  • Obed Bapela, ANC MP and international relations subcommittee member
  • Vuyiswa Tulelo, ANC Youth League Secretary General
  • Simon Senna, Ike Maphoto, and Bifana Matthews Ngcobo, all veterans of the Luthuli Detachment of Umkhonto we Sizwe.

The programme will include a meeting with CCM National Chairperson and the Tanzanian President Jakaya Kikete. He will visit former ANC camps and the former Solomon Mahlangu Freedom College at Mazimbu and the Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial Academy in Kivukoni.

Issued by:
Jessie Duarte
African National Congress

For more information, interview requests and general enquiries:
Steyn Speed 082 572 7304
Vuyisa Manyandela 011 376 1052